Introduced by:	Mayor
Date:	03/24/09
Action:	Postponed Until 04/07/09
Action:	Adopted as Amended
Vote:	8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2009-029

A RESOLUTION APPROVING UNINCORPORATED COMMUNITIES FOR PARTICIPATION IN THE STATE'S FISCAL YEAR 2010 COMMUNITY REVENUE SHARING PROGRAM

- WHEREAS, the Alaska State Legislature has provided funding to municipalities and unincorporated communities through the Community Revenue Sharing Program; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 and 3 AAC 180.070 require the assembly of a borough or unified municipality to adopt a resolution identifying those unincorporated communities located within their municipal boundaries that the assembly determines meet the Community Revenue Sharing Program eligibility criteria established under AS 29.60.865, AS 29.60.879, and 3 AAC 180.110; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 requires the unincorporated community to have either a Native village council or incorporated nonprofit entity that will agree to receive and spend the Community Revenue Sharing payment for the public benefit of the unincorporated community; and
- **WHEREAS,** further, the Native village council must be willing to waive immunity from suit for claims arising out of activities of the council related to the payment; and
- **WHEREAS,** AS 29.60.879 requires the unincorporated community to have 25 or more residents residing as a social unit; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 requires that at least three of the following services be available to all residents of the unincorporated community: fire protection, emergency medical, water and sewer, solid waste management, public road or ice road maintenance, public health, and search and rescue, and that each of the three services, in any combination, be provided by one or more qualifying incorporated nonprofit entity or a Native village council, or are substantially paid for by the residents of the unincorporated community through taxes, charges, or assessments levied or authorized by the borough;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION 1. That the Assembly hereby certifies that the following unincorporated communities and their respective Native village council or incorporated nonprofit entity are eligible for funding under the State's fiscal year 2010 Community Revenue Sharing Program:

Unincorporated Community	Possible Community Recipient
Anchor Point	Anchor Point Safewater Corporation Anchor Point Public Library, Inc. Anchor Point Senior Citizens, Inc.
Bear Creek	Seward Senior Citizens, Inc. Bear Creek Volunteer Fire & EMS
Clam Gulch	Caribou Hills Cabin Hoppers
Cohoe	Kasilof Regional Historical Association
Cooper Landing	Cooper Landing Community Club, Inc.
Crown Point	Moose Pass Sportsmen's Club
Fritz Creek	Snomads Snowmachine Club, Inc. Kachemak Nordic Ski Club, Inc.
Funny River	Funny River Chamber of Commerce and
, ,	Community Association
Норе	Hope, Inc.
Kalifornsky	City of Kenai on behalf of Kenai Senior Citizens Center
	Central Area Rural Transit System, Incorporated
	Cook Inlet Aquaculture Association
IZ '1 C	Kenai Peninsula Food Bank, Inc.
Kasilof	Kasilof Regional Historical Association
Lowell Point Moose Pass	Lowell Point Community Council
Nanwalek	Moose Pass Volunteer Fire Company
Nikiski	Native Village of Nanwalek
INIKISKI	North Peninsula Community Council, Incorporated
Nikolaevsk	Nikolaevsk, Inc.
Ninilchik	Ninilchik Fair Association
	Ninilchik Emergency Services
	Ninilchik Community Library
	Ninilchik Senior Citizens, Incorporation
Port Graham	Native Village of Port Graham
Primrose	Moose Pass Volunteer Fire Company
Ridgeway	Soldotna Area Senior Citizens, Inc.
Salamatof	North Peninsula Community Council
Seldovia Village	Seldovia Village Tribe
Sterling	Sterling Community Club
Tyonek	Native Village of Tyonek
Village of Kachemak Selo	The Village of Kachemak Selo Water Company, Incorporated
Village of Razdolna	Village of Razdolna
Village of Voznesenka	Voznesenka Community Council, Inc.

SECTION 2. This resolution shall become effective immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 7TH DAY OF APRIL, 2009.

Milli Martin, Assembly President

NUMBER OF OCTOBER OF O Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk

Yes: Fischer, Long, Pierce, Smalley, Smith, Sprague, Superman, Martin

No: None

ATTEST:

Absent: Knopp