Introduced by:	
Date:	
Action:	
Vote:	

Drathman at the request of the Borough Clerk 10/12/99 Adopted 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 99-068

A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE OCTOBER 5, 1999 REGULAR BOROUGH ELECTION

WHEREAS, the Canvass Board of the Kenai Peninsula Borough met on October 12, 1999, and tallied the votes of Questioned and Absentee ballots and the ballots cast by voters in the by-mail precincts together with votes counted on election night; and

WHEREAS, the precinct tallies as recorded by the Canvass Board are as follows:

BOROUGH MAYOR

(3-year term)	
---------------	--

ROSS, Joseph	. 632
NAVARRE, Mike	3890
ARNESS, Joe	1302
SKIPWITH, Daniel E. (Spider)	. 192
BAGLEY, Dale	2626
Write-Ins	22

ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 2

(3-year term)
NAVARRE, Tim
Write-Ins

ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 5 (3-year term)

MARTIN, Glen
MERKES, Grace
Write-Ins

ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 8

(3-year term)

MOSS, Ch	iris			•		•		•	•	•	•			•		•	•	•				•	88	\$4	
Write-Ins		•	•		•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•		8	

BOARD OF EDUCATION
(Seat A, 3-year term)
MULLINS, Debra K
Write-Ins

BOARD OF EDUCATION

(Seat B, 3-year term)

ANDERSON, Nels		•				4441	
DYSON, Gene	 	•			 •	2938	
Write-Ins	 				 •	82	

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Defile of EDeciment	
(Seat C, 3-year term)	
NORWOOD, Holly	
MALLETTE, Doug J 1678	
CHENAULT, Charles M. (Mike) 1697	
SCHOOLEY, Jeanbrown	
BROWER, Sharon M 1550	

	Write-Ins															•											6	8
--	-----------	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	---	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	---	---

BEAR CREEK FIRE SERVICE AREA (Seat E, 3-year term)

JONES, Rick	
ZIMMERMAN, Perry	
Other Write-Ins	

CENTRAL PENINSULA HOSPITA	L
SERVICE AREA	
(Seat A, 1-year term)	
GRIMM Bill W	3945

٠.,

ORTANI, I	JIII	**	•	•	•	٠	٠	٠	٠	•	٠	٠	٠	٠	٠	٠	٠	٠	• • •	,,,,,	
Write-Ins	• • •	•		•		•		•	•		•	•	•	•			•	•		125	

CENTRAL PENINSULA HOSPITAL

SERVICE AREA

(Seat C, 3-year term)	
DYSON, Gene	2345
PILLIFANT, Lois	2006
Write-Ins	. 59

JOINT OPERATIONS BOARD FOR THE CENTRAL PENINSULA EMERGENCY

MEDICAL SERVICE AND CENTRAL EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA (Seat E, 3-year term)

DAVIS, Howard 2	:5
DYSON, Gene 1	1
Other Write-Ins	2

ANCHOR POINT FIRE SERVICE AREA

(Seat A, 3-year terr

POINTER, Vaughn	•		•	•	 •	•	•		 •	. 1	3
RODERICK, Paul .		 •	•					•		. 1	1
Other Write-Ins				•	 •	•				. 5	4

ANCHOR POINT FIRE SERVICE AREA

(Seat E, 3-year term)

MOORE, Vada L.	. 136
BLAINE, Russell A.	98
Write-Ins	5

Write-Ins	

NIKISKI FIRE SERVICE AREA

(Seat E, 3-year term)	
CHENAULT, Charles M. (Mike)	784
Write-Ins	5

NIKISKI SENIOR SERVICE AREA

(Seat D, 3-year term)	
-----------------------	--

TAURIAI	NEN, Sue.		 	676
Write-Ins	• • • • • • • • • •	• • • •	 • • • • •	20

NIKISKI SENIOR SERVICE AREA

(Seat E, 3-year term)	
COLLINSWORTH, Sherry A	630
Write-Ins	. 13

NORTH PENINSULA RECREATION SERVICE AREA

SERVICE AREA(Seat F 3-year term)

(Seat E, 5-year term)	
FLOYD, Patricia J. (Patti)	
GERHAUSER, Stanley R 379	
Write-Ins	

SOUTH PENINSULA HOSPITAL

SERVICE AREA

(Seat D, 3-year term)

```			-	/	
GREEN, Da	vid .				 . 34
THOMPSON	l, Ma	ary.			 5
Other Write-	Ins .				 156

SOUTH PENINSULA HOSPITAL
SERVICE AREA
(Seat E, 3-year term)
GANNAWAY, Leroy 1412
Write-Ins

#### SOUTH PENINSULA HOSPITAL SERVICE AREA

# SOUTH PENINSULA HOSPITAL SERVICE AREA (Seat H, 2-year term)

HILLAS,	Angelo	J	•••	 	. 1312
Write-Ins				 	31

PROPOSED NINILCHIK EMERGENCY
SERVICE AREA
(Seat A, 1-year term)
SIMONDS, Susan163
Write-Ins

PROPOSED NINILCHIK EMERGENCY
SERVICE AREA
(Seat B, 2-year term)
Write-Ins

PROPOSED NINILCHIK EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA (Seat C, 2-year term)

Write-Ins ..... 195

# PROPOSED NINILCHIK EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA (Seat D, 3-year term)

FAGGART, Lloyd (Wayne)	118
TRUNNELL, Laura L	. 38
Write-Ins	116

# PROPOSED NINILCHIK EMERGENCY SERVICE AREA

(Seat E, 3-year term)

Write-Ins .		•	•	•	•	•	•								•	•			•	•	•				185	
-------------	--	---	---	---	---	---	---	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	---	---	--	--	---	---	---	--	--	--	-----	--

# **PROPOSITION NO. 1**

(Ninilchik Emergency Service Area)
YES 100
NO

# NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION 1.	That in the borough-wide election for Mayor, no candidate received the required
	majority vote and therefore a runoff election will be held October 26, 1999.

SECTION 2. That in the borough-wide election for School Board, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat A - Debra K. Mullins Seat B - Nels Anderson Seat C - Charles M. Chenault

- **SECTION 3.** That in Assembly District 2, Tim Navarre was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 4.** That in Assembly District 5, a recount petition has been filed and results will be provided at the November 2, 1999 Assembly meeting.
- **SECTION 5.** That in Assembly District 8, Chris Moss was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- SECTION 6. That in the Anchor Point Fire and Emergency Service Area, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast:
  Seat A Vaughn Pointer
  Seat E Vada L. Moore
- **SECTION 7.** That in the Bear Creek Fire Service Area, Seat E, Rick Jones was elected to 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 8.** That for the Joint Operations Board for the Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Services Area and Central Emergency Service Area, Seat E, Howard Davis was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- SECTION 9. That in the Nikiski Fire Service Area, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D - Preston Lee Williams Seat E - Charles M. Chenault
- SECTION 10. That in the Nikiski Senior Service Area, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D - Sue Tauriainen Seat E - Sherry Collinsworth
- **SECTION 11.** That in the North Peninsula Recreation Service Area, Seat E, Patricia J. Floyd was elected to a 3-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 12.** That because of the defeat of the proposition establishing the Ninilchik Emergency Service Area, no board members were elected.
- SECTION 13. That in the South Peninsula Hospital Service Area, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat D - David Green Seat E - Leroy Gannaway Seat F - Karen Forester
- **SECTION 14.** That in the South Peninsula Hospital Service Area, Seat H, Angelo J. Hillas was elected to a 2-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.

- **SECTION 15.** That in the Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area, Seat A, Bill W. Grimm was elected to a 1-year term, having received the greatest number of votes cast.
- **SECTION 16.** That in the Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area, the following were elected to 3-year terms, having received the greatest number of votes cast: Seat B - Cliff Baker Seat C - Gene Dyson
- **SECTION 17.** That Proposition No. 1, establishing the Ninilchik Emergency Service Area, was defeated by the voters of the service area.
- **SECTION 18.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

# ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 12TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 1999.

Ronald Wm. Drathman, Assembly President

ATTEST:

٠.,

Murphy, Borough Clerkington Performance of the second seco KENANIN KENANING KENA