Introduced	Bagley, Brown,
	Merkes
Date:	12/02/97
Action:	Defeated
Vote:	4 Yes, 4 No
	1 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 97-090

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE KENAI RIVER BE EXCLUDED FROM THE AMERICAN HERITAGE RIVERS PROGRAM UNTIL MORE INFORMATION IS OBTAINED

- WHEREAS, the American Heritage Rivers Program was established by President Clinton in 1997 to support community-led efforts relating to rivers that spur economic revitalization, protect natural resources and the environment, and preserve historic and cultural heritage; and
- WHEREAS, in his State of the Union Address of February 4, 1997 President Clinton announced he will designate ten American Heritage Rivers, and he then convened an interagency task force responsible for promptly implementing this initiative; and
- WHEREAS, nominations for this program must be received by December 10, 1997; and
- WHEREAS, one of several criteria to be considered in nominating a river for this program is that a range of citizens and organizations support the nomination and plan of action; and
- WHEREAS, the Kenai River Special Management Area ("KRSMA") Advisory Board is considering nominating the Kenai River as an American Heritage River and has attempted to solicit public comments, but there has been insufficient time to adequately inform the public and solicit comments concerning the proposed nomination; and
- WHEREAS, the KRSMA Advisory Board has not involved all stakeholders along the river in considering whether to submit the application; and
- WHEREAS, as it is so new, information about the American Heritage River Rrogram is vague, unclear and conflicting;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** The Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly asks that the Kenai River not be nominated this year as an American Heritage River until more information is available and all stakeholders have had an adequate opportunity to comment.
- **SECTION 2.** That copies of this Resolution be mailed to the American Heritage Rivers Interagency Task Force, Executive Office of the President: John Shively, Alaska Commissioner of Department of Natural Resources; Alaska Senators Jerry Ward and John Torgerson; and Alaska Representatives Gail Phillips, Gary Davis, and Mark Hodgins; and the Kenai River Special Management Area Advisory Board.

SECTION 3. That this resolution shall take effect immediately upon adoption.

DEFEATED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 2ND DAY OF DECEMBER, 1997.

Jack E. Brown, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Linda S. Murphy, CMC/AAE Borough Clerk