Introduced by: Superman, Glick
 Date: March 5, 1991
 Action:
 Vote:

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH

RESOLUTION 91-32

A RESOLUTION OPPOSING PRESIDENT BUSH'S PROPOSED ENERGY PROGRAM CALLING FOR THE NEGATION OF CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF THE MINERAL LEASING ACT OF 1920 AND THE ALASKA STATEHOOD ACT.

WHEREAS, President Bush has proposed that the federal government receive a 100% share of royalties from oil and gas leases on certain public domain lands in the state; and

WHEREAS, the statehood act represents a solemn compact between the people of a territory and the federal government, and is in essence a contract between two sovereign governments, and

WHEREAS, the Mineral Leasing Act of 1920 provides that the State of Alaska shall receive a 90% share of all bonuses, rentals, and royalties from mineral leases on public domain lands in the state; and

WHEREAS, Congress has provided in Section 28(b) of the Alaska Statehood Act that the state shall receive 90% of the oil and gas revenues produced from public domain lands in Alaska; and

WHEREAS, the people of Alaska understand that the extraction of resources within their state is ultimately connected to the financing of needed infrastructure and the administration of Alaska societal needs.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

<u>Section 1:</u> That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly urges the Alaska State Legislature to pass resolutions seeking to maintain the current revenue share and to support our congressional delegation in opposition to any amendments that effect a diminished share to the people of Alaska.

<u>Section 2:</u> That the Governor and the Legislature are urged to seriously consider the re-establishment of the Alaska Statehood Commission in response to the federal government's proposal to disregard binding historic compacts.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Resolution 91-32 Page 1 of 2 Pages <u>Section 3:</u> That the Borough Clerk is directed to send copies of this resolution to Governor Hickel; Ben Grussendorf, Speaker of the House; Dick Eliason, President of the Senate; Senators Paul Fischer, Jay Kertulla, Lyman Hoffman, and Curt Menard; and Representatives Gene Kubina, Mike Navarre, Gail Phillips, Georgianna Lincoln, and Jim Zawacki.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH ON THIS

19th DAY OF March , 1991.

James W. Skogstad Assembly President

ATTEST:

Janet A. Sumey, CMC, Borough Clerk