Introduced by: Moore Date: June 11, 1987 Vote: Unanimous Action: Adopted

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH

RESOLUTION 87-53

REQUESTING THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES TO DELAY POSTING OF HIGHER SPEED LIMITS ON SEVERAL SECONDARY ROADWAYS WITHIN THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH.

WHEREAS, the Kenai Peninsula Borough has upgraded and paved Robinson Loop Road, Strawberry Road, and portions of Cohoe Loop Road, North Fork Road, and Swanson River Road; and

WHEREAS, these roads are either dead-end or "loop" roads; and $\ensuremath{\mathsf{A}}$

WHEREAS, these roads were originally intended only for residential access, and still primarily serve the same limited purpose; and

WHEREAS, along some portions of these roads there exists hills, curves, intersecting subdivision roads, and numerous driveways and trails; and

WHEREAS, these road and their adjacent areas are frequently used by pedestrians, bicyclists, equestrians, and all-terrain vehicle operators, many of whom are children; and also by animals, both domestic and wild; and

WHEREAS, the State of Alaska, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, has proposed to raise the historically low speed limits to as much as 55 MPH;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

Section 1. That the State of Alaska, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, is requested to not implement proposed new higher speed limits on the above mentioned roads until such time as public hearings can be held in the affected communities, and until complete investigations can be made by DOTPF as to whether changes in the current speed limits are necessary or advisable.

Section 2. That a copy of this resolution shall be sent to Tommy Gene Heinrich, P.E., Director, Design & Construction, Central Region; to Keith R. Morberg, P.E., Chief of Design, Central Region; and to Steven R. Horn, P.E., Regional Traffic & Safety Engineer.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH ON THIS 11th DAY OF ______, 1987.

ATTEST:

Jonathan W. Sewall, Assembly President Clerk

Borough Clerk